Larimer County in Colorado

In the United States, there are 64 counties. One of those is the Larimer County that  is located in the State of Colorado. As for the most populous city in this county, it is the City of Fort Collins. This city is also the administrative center or the capital city. It is also known as the “county seat”. The Larimer County is located at the northern end of the Front Range. With regards to the year of this county’s establishment, it was actually created in the year 1861.

It became one of the seventeen original counties in the territory of Colorado. The county has national protected areas and these are Cache La Poudre Wilderness, Comanche Peak Wilderness, Neota Wilderness, Rawah Wilderness, Rocky Mountain National Park, and the Roosevelt National Forest. As for the state’s protected areas, there are two and these are Boyd Lake State Park and Lory State  Park. There are two cities in the county. These cities refer to Fort Collins City and the city of Loveland which are the Home Rule Municipalities.

As for the county’s towns, there are six and these are Berthoud, Estes Park, Johnstown, Timnath, Wellington, and Windsor. There are also designated places according to census. These places refer to the LaPorte and Red Feather Lakes. Unincorporated communities and ghost towns too are present. In terms of politics, the county was previously a Republican stronghold. And in the year 2008, it was Barack Obama who became the first Democrat to carry the county with the majority of votes. These are just a few of the information about the county.